Commission on Addictive Disorders

Name Commission on Addictive Disorders
Contact Person Carol S. Foret - Program Manager 1-A, Office of Behavioral Health
Mailing Address Post Office Box 4049
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4049
Phone Number 225-342-8944
Fax Number 225-342-3931
Board Email Carol.Foret@LA.GOV
Website --
Legal Authority R.S. 46:2500
Year Created 1984
Organizational Placement Department of Health and Hospitals
Purpose/Function The commission serves as the advisory board for the Office of Behavioral Health on state policy with respect to addictive disorders; advises other state entities on state addictive disorders policy; recommends policy, program initiatives and goals relative to addictive disorders prevention and treatment to be included in an annual state plan; and serves as a liaison to state and local entities advocating prevention and treatment of addictive disorders.
Number of Entity Members: Number Authorized: 13
Number Currently Serving: 10
Number of Entity Meetings: Actual number in prior year: 12
Estimated number in current year: 12
The Entity is:
Active   Inactive   Not fully organized   Disbanded   Never fully organized
Do members receive per diem, salaries, and/or travel expense reimbursements?
Yes   No
Excluding member per diem, salaries, and travel expense reimbursements, does the entity receive or expend funds?
Yes   No
Entity Member Per Diem:
  Amount Authorized: $0      per meeting   per meeting day   per day spent on board business   None

Total entity member per diem:
  Prior year actual: $0.00
  Current year budgeted: $0.00
Entity Member Salaries:
  Prior year actual: $0.00
  Current year budgeted: $0.00
Entity Member Travel Expense Reimbursement:
  Prior year actual: $0.00
  Current year budgeted: $0.00
Number and Type of Authorized Employee Positions:
Classified: 0
Unclassified: 0
Part-time: 0
Entity Fiscal Year End:
4/30         7/31         10/31         Other (identify date)
6/30         9/30         12/31         None
Participation in State Employee Benefit Programs:
       participate in state retirement system(s) and/or state group insurance program(s)
       do not participate in state benefit programs

       participate in state retirement system(s) and/or state group insurance program(s)
       do not participate in state benefit programs
A state agency provides: (Check all that apply and identify the state agency)
Per Diem Payments          State Agency:
Travel Reimbursements    State Agency: Office of Behavioral Health
Other (explain)    State Agency:
Is this entity a budget unit or included within a budget unit of the State of Louisiana as defined by LSA-R.S. 39:2?
   Yes    No
  If yes, identify the budget unit and the budget schedule number below:
  Budget Unit Name:
  Budget Schedule Number:
Notes Information reported in the Boards and Commissions Database is based on a State Fiscal Year. (July 1 thru June 30)

Mr. George McHugh,Member-at-Large,Vice Chair, Liaison from Region IV-Lafayette passed away Friday, February 15, 2013.

Effective June 28, 2013 two new Commission members were appointed to the LCAD by the Governor. The appointees were:

Mr. Michael Slocum, of Pineville, retired from the Rapides Parish Sheriff's Office and served as the former Commander of the Narcotics Division. He now works for the Depart. of Public Safety & Corrections with the LA Board of Parole. Mr. Slocum will be appointed to serve as a gubernatorial appointee.

Dr. Susan C. Tucker, of Plain Dealing, is the Assist. Warden & Chief Psychologist at Forcht-Wade Correctional Center & the LA State-Wide Sex Offender Tx Program Coordinator & the LA State-Wide Substance Abuse Program Coordinator. Dr. Tucker will be appointed to serve as a gubernatorial appointee.

Dr. Anthony Speier, OBH Assist. Secretary retired Tuesday, 10/29/13.

Dr. Rochelle Dunham became the Interim Assist. Secretary of OBH effective Wednesday, 10/30/13.

Effective 11/22/13 one new Commission member was appointed to the LCAD by the Governor. The appointee was:

Kerri Cunningham, of Lafayette, is the Dire. of Clinical Services at Victory Addiction Recovery Center in Lafayette. Kerri will be appointed to serve as a gubernatorial appointee.

Dr. Rochelle Dunham was confirmed as the OBH Assist. Secretary effective Monday, 6/2/14.

Mr. Lloyd Hernandez term expired on Monday, 6/30/14. He did not reconfirm his Commission member position.

Jon Lance Nickelson submitted a written letter of resignation from the LCAD effective 10/3/2014. He represented the NEDHSA, formally Region VIII.

Through HB 451/ACT 401 during the SFY 2015 Legislative Session the Louisiana Commission on Addictive Disorders (LCAD) was abolished effective August 1, 2015. SFY
LaTrac was developed by the Louisiana Division of Administration, Office of Information Services.