330.12.1. Non-Flood Protection Asset Management Authority; creation; composition; powers, duties, functions

A. The Non-Flood Protection Asset Management Authority, hereafter referred to as the "authority", is hereby created as a political subdivision possessing full corporate power to manage, control, regulate, operate, and maintain any non-flood protection facility or improvement asset or function within a levee district within the jurisdiction of a flood protection authority.

B. The authority shall not be eligible to receive or expend any money from the Transportation Trust Fund.

C. The authority shall be composed of the following members who shall be subject to Senate confirmation, provided that no state senator or state representative shall appoint himself as a member of the authority:

(1) One member appointed by the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority East.

(2) One member appointed by the state senator representing Senate District No. 3 and Senate District No. 4, and by the state representative representing House District No. 97, House District No. 94, House District No. 99, and by the Congressional Representative representing Congressional District No. 1 and Congressional District No. 2. At least one member appointed shall be a lawyer, at least one member shall be a certified public accountant and at least one member shall be a realtor.

(3) One member appointed by the mayor of the city of New Orleans.

(4) One member appointed by each New Orleans city council member in whose district a non-flood asset is located.

(5) Two members appointed jointly by the presidents of the Lakeshore, Lake Vista, Lake Terrace, and Lake Oaks property owners associations.

(6) One member appointed by the secretary of the Department of Transportation and Development.

(7) One member appointed by the Lake Pontchartrain Basin Foundation.

(8) One member appointed by the board for the New Orleans City Park.

D.(1) Members of the authority shall serve a term of four years. Any vacancy occurring on the authority shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the unexpired portion of the position vacated.

(2) A majority of the members of the authority shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of official business and all official actions of the authority shall require an affirmative vote by a majority of the members present and voting at a meeting.

(3) Members of the authority shall not receive any compensation for serving on the board but each member may receive not more than fifty dollars per day for attendance at meetings of the authority or its subcommittees. In addition, members may be reimbursed for mileage expenses incurred while in the performance of their official duties at the rate established by the division of administration for travel by state officials.

(4) Members of the authority shall file annual financial disclosure statements pursuant to R.S. 42:1124.2.1.

E. The authority shall be domiciled in the parish of Orleans.

F. The authority shall elect from its members a chairman and a secretary and shall select a vice-chairman to serve in the absence of the chairman. The authority may employ an executive director and such personnel as may be necessary to implement the provisions of this Section. G. The authority shall be responsible for the development and implementation of a management plan to best utilize the assets under its jurisdiction and maximize the benefits, attributes, and revenue potentials of such assets. Such plan shall include parameters for the interactions between the authority and other political subdivisions in the geographical areas of the assets under the jurisdiction of the authority and shall detail a procedure and process for the operation, maintenance, sale, lease, or transfer of any facility or improvement managed or controlled by the authority.

Acts 2010, No. 1014, §2, §4, eff. Jan. 1, 2012; Acts 2011, No. 363, §2, eff. June 29, 2011, and §3, eff. Jan. 1, 2012.