

EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND EDUCATION (ECCE) COMMISSION

AUTHORITY/HISTORY

Louisiana's Early Childhood Care and Education Commission was established in Act 639 and has been charged with creating a vision and framework for the future of early childhood care and education in Louisiana.

2020-2021 MEETING DATES

• Monday, October 26, 2020, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

• Thursday, January 21, 2021, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 2, 2021, 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

2020-2021 COMMISSION TASK FORCE MEETING DATES

• Thursday, November 12, 2020, 12 p.m.-2 p.m.

MEMBERSHIP ROLES & APPOINTING AUTHORITIES

Co-Chair: Representative Stephanie Hilferty

Co-Chair: Senator Beth Mizell

Role	Member	Title/Organization
Municipality that receives Head Start funding	Judy Thompson	EBR Head Start
Head Start program	Susan Spring, Ph.D.	Regina Coeli Head Start
Child advocacy or community organization	Michael Tipton	BCBSLA Foundation
Special-needs advocacy organization	Maria Blanco	LSU Health Sciences Center
Governor's Office	Anthony C. "Buddy" Leach	Office of the Governor
Business Representative	lleana Ledet	Greater New Orleans, Inc.
Local School Superintendent	Melissa Stilley	Tangipahoa Parish Superintendent of Schools
Type III ELC	Alan Young	Southland Park Learning Center
Child advocacy or community organization	Libbie Sonnier, Ph.D.	Louisiana Policy Institute for Children
Parent in a publicly-funded ECE program	Theon Julien	
Member of the House of Representatives	Representative Stephanie Hilferty	Louisiana House of Representatives
Member of the House of Representatives	Representative Gary Carter	Louisiana House of Representatives
Business Representative	Monique Scott-Spaulding	Jani King
Local School Superintendent	Scott Richard	Acadia Parish School System
Type III ELC	Monique Rouege	Carlie Care Kids
Child advocacy or community organization	Liz Smith	Baton Rouge Area Chamber
Parent in a publicly-funded ECE program	Melissa Goudeau	Early Childhood Development and Family Center of Avoyelles
Member of the Senate	Senator Regina Barrow	Louisiana Senate
Member of the Senate	Senator Beth Mizell	Louisiana Senate
High-performing community early childhood care and education network	Paula Polito	Beary Cherry Tree



EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND EDUCATION (ECCE) COMMISSION

Role	Member	Title/Organization
High-performing community early childhood care and education network	Cindy Rushing	Rapides Community Network
Nonpublic school	Dionne Frost	St. Joan of Arc Catholic School
Pediatrician appointed by American Academy of Pediatrics	Keith Perrin, M.D.	American Academy of Pediatrics
Professional expertise in the operations of a family care center	Sherry Guarisco	Louisiana Partnership for Children and Families
Early childhood researcher from a LA public postsecondary education institution	Michelle Fazio-Brunson, Ph.D.	Northwestern State University
Type I or Type II Center	Lindsey Fisher	Fisher Early Childhood Development Center
Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visitation programs within the Bureau of Family Health	Seema Dave	Louisiana Department of Health
Early Steps program within the Bureau of Family Health	Brenda Sharp	Louisiana Department of Health
Early childhood programs within the state Department of Education	Jenna Chiasson, Ph.D.	Louisiana Department of Education
Louisiana Head Start Collaboration Office	Kahree Wahid	Louisiana Department of Education
Special education programs within the DOE	Brittany Braun	Louisiana Department of Education
Staff member of Board of Regents	Susannah Craig, Ph.D.	Board of Regents
ED of Workforce Commission or designee	Donna Edwards	Louisiana Workforce Commission
Secretary of Economic Development or designee	Stacey Neal	Louisiana Economic Development
Secretary of DCFS or designee	Toni Buxton	Department of Children & Family Servicecs
Professional with expertise in the socioemotional development and well-being of children from birth through age four	Charles H. Zeanah, M.D.	Tulane University
Early intervention researcher from a LA public postsecondary education institution	Cynthia F. DiCarlo, Ph.D.	Louisiana State University
Early care and education researcher from a public postsecondary education institution	Linda Flynn, Ph.D.	University of New Orleans
BESE member	Tony Davis	Board of Elementary & Secondary Education
Early childhood development and education specialist	Mary Mills	Center for Development & Learning
LETA Representative	Christina Melton	Louisiana Educational Television Authority

NOTICE: In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, if you need special assistance at this meeting, please contact Leslie.Doyle@la.gov at least three business days in advance of the meeting describing the assistance that is needed.