

## **AUTHORITY/HISTORY**

Louisiana's Early Childhood Care and Education Commission was established in Act 639 and has been charged with creating a vision and framework for the future of early childhood care and education in Louisiana.

#### **2018 MEETING DATES**

- Wednesday, August 1, 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
- Thursday, September 6, 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
- Wednesday, October 3, 12-3, 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
- Monday, Novembe 5, 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. (CANCELED)
- Thursday, December 13, 12:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

### **MEMBERSHIP ROLES & APPOINTING AUTHORITIES**

Co-Chair: Representative Stephanie Hilferty

Co-Chair: Senator Beth Mizell

#### LDOE Staff Coordinator: Jessica Baghian

Role	Member	Title/Organization
Municipality that receives Head Start funding	Judy Thompson	EBR Head Start
Head Start Program	Susan Spring, Ph.D.	Regina Coeli Child Development Center
Special-needs advocacy organization	Maria Blanco	LSU Health Sciences Center
Child advocacy or community organization	Michael Tipton	BCBSLA Foundation
Governor's Office	Anthony C. "Buddy" Leach	Office of the Governor
Professional expertise in the operations of a family care center	Sherry Guarisco	Louisiana Partnership for Children and Families
Professional with expertise in the socioemotional development and well-being of children from birth through age four	Charles H. Zeanah, M.D.	Tulane University
Business Representative	Brigette Nieland	Louisiana Association of Buisiness and Industry
Local School Superintendent	Melissa Stilley	Tangipahoa Parish School System
Type III ELC	Alan Young	Southland Park Learning Center
Child advocacy or community organization	Melanie Bronfin	Louisiana Policy Institute for Children
Member of the House of Representatives	Representative Stephanie Hilferty	House of Representatives
Member of the House of Representatives	Representative Gary Carter	House of Representatives
Early care and education researcher from a public postsecondary education institution	Linda Flynn, Ph.D.	University of New Orleans
Business Representative	Monique Scott-Spaulding	Jani King
Local School Superintendent	Cade Brumley, Ph.D.	Jefferson Parish School System
Type III ELC	Monique Rouege	Carlie Care Kids



# EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE AND EDUCATION (ECCE) COMMISSION

Role	Member	Title/Organization
Child advocacy or community organization	Keith Leger, Ph.D.	Council for a Better Louisiana and Stand for Children
Member of the Senate	Senator Regina Barrow	Senate
Member of the Senate	Senator Beth Mizell	Senate
Type I or Type II Center	Abigail Iron Rope	Trinity Lutheran Church
Parent in a publicly-funded ECE program	Melissa Goudeau	Early Childhood Development and Family Center of Avoyelles
High-performing community early childhood care and education network	Paula Polito	Beary Cherry Tree
High-performing community early childhood care and education network	Cindy Rushing	Rapides Parish School System
Nonpublic school	Dionne Frost	St. Joan of Arc Catholic School
Pediatrician appointed by American Academy of Pediatrics	Keith Perrin, M.D.	American Academy of Pediatrics
Maternal, infant, and early childhood home visitation programs within the Bureau of Family Health	Gina Easterly	Louisiana Department of Health
Early Steps program within the Bureau of Family Health	Brenda Sharp	Louisiana Department of Health
Early childhood programs within the state Department of Education	Jessica Baghian	Louisiana Department of Education
Louisiana Head Start Collaboration Office	Kahree Wahid	Louisiana Department of Education
Special education programs within the Louisiana Department of Education	Laurie Carlton	Louisiana Department of Education
Staff member of Board of Regents	Susannah Craig, Ph.D.	Board of Regents
Early intervention researcher from a LA public postsecondary education institution	Cynthia F. DiCarlo	Louisiana State University
Early childhood researcher from a LA public post- secondary education institution	Michelle Fazio-Brunson, Ph.D.	Northwestern State University
ED of Workforce Commission or designee	First Lady Donna Edwards	Louisiana Workforce Commission
Secretary of Economic Development or designee	Stacey Neal	Louisiana Economic Development
Secretary of DCFS or designee	Toni Buxton	Department of Children & Family Services