Kim Hunter Reed, Chair
Vladimir Alexander Appeaning
James Ammons
Joseph Bouie
Gerald Boudreaux
Preston Castille
Ava Cates
Ronnie Dyer
Rochelle Ford
Richard Gallot, Jr.
Jimmy Harris
James Henderson



Jason Hughes
Patrick Jefferson
Makesha Judson
Michael McClanahan
Orlando McMeans
John Pierre
Vincent Pierre
Dennis Shields
Larissa Littleton-Steib
Toya Barnes-Teamer
Reynold Verret
Stephanie Willis

HBCU ADVISORY COUNCIL Xavier University Center, Room 205C Xavier University of Louisiana Thursday, February 16, 2023

Thursday, February 16, 2023 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

10:00 a.m. - 10:03 a.m. Call to Order/ Roll Call

Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education

10:03 a.m. 10:05 a.m. Oaths of Office

10:05 a.m. – 10:07 a.m. Approval of the October Minutes

10:05 a.m. - 10:10 a.m. Welcome/Introduction

10:10 a.m. -11:30 a.m. Xavier Medical School Planning

Dr. Reynold Verrett, President of Xavier Louisiana University

LED Update and Information

Brenda Guess, Assistant Secretary, LED

Chris Stelly, Executive Group Director, Entertainment & Digital Media, LED

SUNO Nursing Program

Dr. Kelly D. Smith, Chair/Associate Professor SUNO Department of Nursing

Dillard Master of Science in Nursing

Dr. Sharon W. Hutchinson, Dean, Dillard College of Nursing

Mablene Krueger, Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Museum Project Update

Capitol Park Museum

11:30 a.m. -11:50 a.m. Campus/Legislative Updates

11:50 a.m. – 11:55 a.m. Public Comment

11:55 a.m. Closing Remarks ~ Next Steps, Future Meetings

12:00 pm. Adjourn

ADA Accessibility Requests: If you have a disability and require a reasonable accommodation to fully participate in this meeting, please contact Dr. Cory Wicker five (5) business days before the meeting date via email at cory.wicker@la.gov or by telephone at (225) 219-7661 to discuss your accessibility needs.