ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR THE REGULATION AND CONTROL OF WATER WELL CONTRACTORS (DRILLERS) IN LOUISIANA

Meeting Summary May 9, 2018 11:00 A.M.

Prepared by:

The Department of Natural Resources

Office of Conservation

Environmental Division Staff

Advisory Committee members in attendance:

Commissioner of Conservation, Driller at Large – Scott Bergeron Driller, Louisiana Ground Water Association – Herschel Bourque Louisiana Ground Water Association, Municipal & Industrial Driller – Harold Leleux Secretary of the Department of Health & Hospitals, designee – Johan Forsman Commissioner of Conservation, Driller at Large – Gary P. Hill Representative of the United States Geological Survey – John Lovelace Driller, Louisiana Ground Water Association – Terry Suire President of the Louisiana Engineering Society, designee – Roy A. Waggenspack

Call to Order

Terry Suire, Chairman of the Advisory Committee, called the meeting to order at 11:02 a.m. with welcoming remarks. The roll was called and a quorum was established.

Review of New Applicants for Louisiana Driller's License

- 1. The committee reviewed the application for Derek Pourciau of ICON Environmental Services. Roy Waggenspack made the motion to accept the application and to take the test; seconded by Scott Bergeron. The motion passed unanimously.
- 2. The committee reviewed the application for James Sumrall of Jordan Well Services. Herschel Bourque made the motion to accept the application and to take the test; seconded by Gary P. Hill. The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. The committee reviewed the application for Joe Kennedy of Kennedy Water Well & Pumps LLC. Herschel Bourque made the motion to accept the application and to take the test; seconded by John Lovelace. The motion passed unanimously.
- 4. The committee reviewed the application for Robert Sawrey of Boart Longyear. Gary Hill made the motion to accept the application and to take the test; seconded by Scott Bergeron. The motion passed unanimously.

Adoption of the November 8, 2017 Meeting Summary

Scott Bergeron made the motion to accept the November meeting summary; seconded by Roy Waggenspack. The motion passed unanimously.

Current Events Update

There was a discussion about adopting a summary from the February meeting and adding it to this meeting notes to have record of drillers taking the test. The following is from the February 7, 2018 meeting.

"Advisory Committee members in attendance:

Commissioner of Conservation, designee – John Adams Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, designee – Patrick Courreges (LATE) Secretary of the Department of Health & Hospitals, designee – Johan Forsman Commissioner of Conservation, Driller at Large – Gary P. Hill Representative of the United States Geological Survey – John Lovelace President of the Louisiana Engineering Society, designee – Roy A. Waggenspack

Call to Order

Roy Waggenspack, Former Chairman of the Advisory Committee, called the meeting to order at 11:20 a.m. with welcoming remarks. The roll was called and a quorum was <u>not established</u>. A question was asked about what would be done about the testing applicants. John Adams stated that the committee not having a quorum does not affect applicants taking the test.

Review of New Applicants for Louisiana Driller's License

The attending committee members reviewed the applications for the following:

- 1. Richard Mooney of Cascade Drilling.
- 2. Kyla Zaunbrecher of D&W Drilling
- 3. Christopher Miller of ICON Environmental
- 4. Terry Wattie of Clean Harbors Exploration

The applicants then left to take the test. A copy of each test applicant's professional summary was emailed to all committee members after the meeting."

Public Comments

There were no public comments

Date for the Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Advisory Committee is scheduled for August 8, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. in the Griffon Room on the 1st floor of the LaSalle Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There being no other business before the Advisory Committee, Harold Leleux made the motion to adjourn; seconded by Herschel Bourque. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.