Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism

Lieutenant Governor Nungesser Recognizes Former Governor Blanco with Lifetime Achievement Award for Her Dedication to the Tourism Industry in Louisiana

For Release On:

January 24, 2019

Alexandria:  Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser and the Louisiana Travel Association today recognized three key political figures – former Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco, State Representative Cameron Henry, and State Senator Sharon Hewitt – for their outstanding support and promotion of the tourism industry during the association's annual meeting in Alexandria.

"All three of these leaders understand the value and significance of Louisiana's tourism industry to the economic well-being of our state," said Lt. Governor Billy Nungesser.

Former Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco was recognized with the Will Mangham Tourism Lifetime Achievement Award for her work as Lieutenant Governor and continued support of the tourism industry throughout her 24 years in state government. Blanco was first elected to office in 1984 as a state representative from District 45. From 1996-2004, she served as Lieutenant Governor overseeing the Department of Culture, Recreation & Tourism. Blanco spoke about procuring the Heart of Spain exhibit which drew national attention to Louisiana during the state's bicentennial celebration. In 2004, Blanco was elected Governor and continued her support of the tourism industry.

Lt. Governor Nungesser also recognized Representative Cameron Henry (District 82 – Orleans and Jefferson Parishes) and State Senator Sharon Hewitt (District 1 – St. Tammany, Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard Parishes) with the Governmental Friend of Tourism Award.

State Representative Cameron Henry started his career in tourism under Lieutenant Governor Blanco talked about his experience fueling his passion for the industry still today. Representative Henry is the chairman for the House Appropriations Committee.

State Senator Sharon Hewitt was elected to the legislature in 2015. Prior to her election she served as the chairman for the St. Tammany Parish Recreation Board from District 16 from 2012-2015. During that time she led the effort to develop a Parks and Recreation Master Plan in eastern St. Tammany Parish to attract visiting sports teams and their families to the parish.

Original Press Release https://www.crt.state.la. us/news?NewsID=183

Republished by LOUISIANA NEWS | www.louisiana.gov