Louisiana Workforce Commission

Parishes Eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

For Release On:

March 15, 2016

Baton Rouge: President Barack Obama has expanded the number of Louisiana parishes included in a major disaster declaration, making disaster unemployment assistance (DUA) available to more businesses and residents whose employment or self-employment was lost or interrupted as a result of flooding March 8-13, 2016.

The president acted upon a request by Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards.

The Louisiana Workforce Commission is accepting applications for disaster unemployment assistance from residents and businesses in the following parishes and according to the following deadlines:

The parishes of: Bossier, Claiborne, Grant, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland and Webster have until April 14, 2016, to file DUA applications.

The parishes of: Beauregard, Bienville, Caddo, Caldwell, DeSoto, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Natchitoches, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Union, Vernon, Washington, West Carroll and Winn have until April 16, 2016, to file DUA applications.

Individuals affected in these designated-disaster areas must file DUA applications by established deadlines. DUA is available to individuals who:

  • Worked or were self-employed or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment.
  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of the disaster.
  • Establish that the work or self-employment they no longer can perform was their principal source of income.
  • Do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits from any state.
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury as a direct result of the disaster, or,
  • Who became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of household.

Applications filed after the deadline, will be considered untimely and DUA benefits may be denied, unless the individual provides good cause for filing after that date. Applicants must submit their Social Security number, check stubs and documentation to support the claim that they were working or self-employed when the disaster occurred. In some cases, additional documentation may be required. To receive DUA benefits, all required documentation must be submitted with 21 days from the date the DUA application is filed.

Disaster unemployment assistance is available from weeks of unemployment beginning March 13, 2016, and up to September 17, 2016, as long as the individual’s unemployment continues to be a result of the disaster.

To file for disaster unemployment assistance, applicants should apply online at laworks.net or call the Benefits Analysis Team at 1-866-783-5567 Monday through Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Central time. Additional information is available at laworks.net. Personal assistance is available through local Business and Career Solutions Centers.

About the Louisiana Workforce Commission

The Louisiana Workforce Commission is an agency of state government that administers programs designed to enhance workforce growth and provide family-sustaining jobs for Louisiana residents. The commission monitors employment, administers unemployment compensation and tax funds, provides training resources for employers and employees and oversees worker compensation benefits. The agency also gathers and supplies information on the labor market and occupational sectors in Louisiana.

Original Press Release http://www.laworks.net&#x 2f;PublicRelations/PR_PressReleaseD etails.asp?SeqNo=1954&Year =2016&Month=3

Republished by LOUISIANA NEWS | www.louisiana.gov